Notes Are Shattered

Holy crap, there's music here!

Saturday, March 24, 2007

The complete Explosions in the Sky

I just bought the double-disc version of the new Explosions in the Sky last night, so I thought I would upload their whole discography for you. They are one of the best post-rock groups around right now, and they're kind of refreshing because they stick to guitar, bass, and drums with the occasional string or piano part thrown in. They're not wildly experimental like some bands in the genre (Godspeed You! Black Emperor comes to mind), and a lot of their more recent material falls in the 2 to 7 minute range, which should make them more accessible to people who aren't used to listening to super-long instrumental pieces. It may be formulaic, but Explosions in the Sky are exceptional at what they do. They have left me breathless on a few occasions, because of the beauty and power contained on their albums. Enjoy.

The Rescue EP is available on the Explosions in the Sky website so I've just added direct links to the MP3s.

There are three songs on the Friday Night Lights soundtrack that aren't by Explosions in the Sky, but I included them anyway in case people were interested in them. They're also good songs.

They had a track exclusive to a compilation their record label put out, so I just upped that track apart from the rest of the compilation.

2000 (reissued in 2005) - How Strange, Innocence
1. A Song for Our Fathers
2. Snow and Lights
3. Magic Hours
4. Look into the Air
5. Glittering Blackness
6. Time Stops
7. Remember Me as a Time of Day

2001 - Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Live Forever
1. Greet Death
2. Yasmin the Light
3. The Moon Is Down
4. Have You Passed Through This Night?
5. A Poor Man's Memory
6. With Tired Eyes, Tired Minds, Tired Souls, We Slept

2002 - Peel Session 1
1. First Breath After Coma
2. The Moon Is Down
3. Memorial

2003 - The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place
1. First Breath After Coma
2. The Only Moment We Were Alone
3. Six Days at the Bottom of the Ocean
4. Memorial
5. Your Hand in Mine

2004 - TRR50: Thank You (Temporary Residence Limited compilation)
6. The Long Spring

2004 - Friday Night Lights Soundtrack
1. From West Texas
2. Your Hand In Mine (With Strings)
3. Our Last Days As Children
4. An Ugly Fact of Life
5. Home
6. Sonho Dourado (by Daniel Lanois)
7. To West Texas
8. Your Hand In Mine (Goodbye)
9. Inside It All Feels The Same
10. Do You Ever Feel Cursed
11. Lonely Train
12. Seagull (by Bad Company)
13. The Sky Above, The Field Below (by Justin Stanley)
14. Slow Dance

2004 - Friday Night Lights Studio Demos
1. Opening
2. Hut 1 Hut 2
3. Coloring Shoes
4. Christmas Dance
5. Losing Games
6. Your Hand
7. Dragging
8. Up
9. Mark Jamming
10. Could You Speed That Up a Little?
11. Chris & Munaf Go to the Circus
12. Train Station

2004 - Peel Session 2
1. The Only Moment We're Alone
2. The Long Spring
3. With Tired Eyes, Tired Minds, Tired Souls We Slept

2005 - The Rescue EP (Travels in Constants Vol. 21)
1. Day One
2. Day Two
3. Day Three
4. Day Four
5. Day Five
6. Day Six
7. Day Seven
8. Day Eight

2007 - All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone (Limited Edition)
Disc 1
1. The Birth and Death of the Day
2. Welcome, Ghosts
3. It's Natural to Be Afraid
4. What Do You Go Home To?
5. Catastrophe and the Cure
6. So Long, Lonesome

Disc 2
1. The Birth and Death of the Day (Jesu Mix)
2. Welcome, Ghosts (Adem Mix)
3. It's Natural to Be Afraid (The Paper Chase Mix)
4. What Do You Go Home To? (Mountains Mix)
5. Catastrophe and the Cure (Four Tet Mix)
6. So Long, Lonesome (Eluvium Mix)



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home